Welcome to the home page of WG 1.8 "Concurrency Theory" established in 2005 under Technical Committee TC1 Foundations of Computer Science of IFIP. The main aim of this working group, among others, is to develop the theoretical foundations of concurrency, exploring the frontiers of existing theoretical models like process algebra and various process calculi, so as to obtain a deeper theoretical understanding of concurrent and parallel systems.

Annual Activities

  •  TRENDS: The working group organizes an annual workshop on "Trends in Concurrency Theory" co-located with the International Conference on Concurrency Theory (CONCUR). Below are the links to the web pages of the current / past editions:
    • TRENDS 2015 to be held on September 5, 2015 in Madrid, Spain,
    • TRENDS 2014 held on September 6, 2014 in Rome, Italy,
    • TRENDS 2013 held on August 31, 2013 in Buenos Aires, Argentina, and 
    • TRENDS 2012 held on September 8, 2012 in Newcastle upon Tyne, UK .



  1. Luca Aceto, Reykjavik University, Iceland  
  2. Roberto Amadio, Université de Paris 7, FR 
  3. Pedro D'Argenio, Universidad Nacional de Córdoba, Argentina
  4. Jos Baeten, Eindhoven University of Technology, NL
  5. Marco Bernardo, Università di Urbino, IT 
  6. Michele Boreale, Università di Firenze, IT 
  7. Patricia Bouyer-Decitre, ENS-Cachan, FR
  8. Luca Cardelli, Microsoft Research, UK 
  9. Ilaria Castellani, INRIA Sophia Antipolis, FR
  10. Flavio CorradiniUniversità di Camerino, IT 
  11. Silvia Crafa, Università di Padova, IT 
  12. Vincent Danos, CNRS and Paris VII, FR
  13. Luca de Alfaro, UC Santa Cruz, USA
  14. Rocco De Nicola, IMT Lucca, IT
  15. Javier Esparza, TU München, DE
  16. Wan Fokkink, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam and TU Eindhoven, NL  
  17. David de Frutos Escrig, Universidad Compultense Madris, ES
  18. Yuxi Fu, Shanghai Jiaotong University, CN
  19. Paul Gastin, ENS-Cachan, FR
  20. Hubert Garavel, INRIA Grenoble, FR
  21. Rob van Glabbeek, NICTA, Australia 
  22. Ursula Goltz, TU Braunschweig, DE 
  23. Holger Hermanns, Saarland University, DE 
  24. Joost-Pieter Katoen, RWTH Aachen University, DE 
  25. Naoki Kobayashi, Tokyo University, JP 
  26. Antonin Kucera, Masaryk University, CZ
  27. Orna Kupferman, Hebrew University, Jerusalem, IL
  28. Marta Kwiatkowska, Oxford University, UK 
  29. Anna Labella, Università di Roma "La Sapienza", IT
  30. Cosimo Laneve, Università di Bologna, IT
  31. Kim G. Larsen, BRICS, CISS and Aalborg University, DK
  32. Huimin Lin, Chinese Academy of Sciences, CN
  33. Xinxin Liu, Chinese Academy of Sciences, CN
  34. Bas Luttik, Eindhoven University of Technology, NL 
  35. Ugo Montanari, Università di Pisa, IT
  36. Mohammad Mousavi, Halmstad University, Sweden (Secretary)
  37. Madhavan Mukund, Chennai Mathematical Institute, India 
  38. Uwe Nestmann, TU Berlin, DE
  39. Catuscia Palamidessi, INRIA Saclay, FR 
  40. Prakash Panangaden, McGill, CA
  41. Alban Ponse, University of Amsterdam, NL
  42. Corrado Priami, Università di Trento, IT
  43. Bill Roscoe, Oxford University, UK
  44. Davide Sangiorgi, Università di Bologna, IT
  45. Steve Schneider, Royal Holloway, UK
  46. Alexandra Silva, University College London, UK
  47. Scott Smolka, SUNY Sony Brook, USA 
  48. Ana Sokolova, Salzburg University, AT
  49. Colin Stirling, University of Edinburgh, UK 
  50. Irek Ulidowski, University of Leicester, UK 
  51. Moshe Vardi, Rice University, USA
  52. Vasco Vasconcelos, University of Lisbon, PT
  53. Walter Vogler, Universität Augsburg, DE
  54. Nobuko Yoshida, Imperial College, UK 


Past Activities


  • IFIP WG 1.8 co-organized a research seminar on Open Problems in Concurrency Theory (OPCT 2014) from June 18 to June 21, 2014, in Bertinoro, Italy. 
  • Some members of IFIP WG 1.8 organized a workshop on 25 Years of  Combining Concurrency and Compositionality (WS25CCC) from August 6 to August 9, 2013 in Königswinter, Germany. 
  • IFIP WG 1.8 organized a workshop on Formal Methods for Embedded Systems at FMweek in Eindhoven. 
  • IFIP WG 1.8 together with IFIP WG 2.2 organized a workshop on  "behavioural varieties in concurrency" at CONCUR 2009 in Bologna, on Wednesday 2 September 2009.  

Past Members

  1. Martin Abadi, UC Santa Cruz and Google, USA
  2. Jan Bergstra, University of Amsterdam, NL
  3. Gerard Boudol, INRIA Sophia Antipolis, FR
  4. Zoltan Esik, University of Szeged, HU
  5. Andrew D. Gordon, Microsoft Research, UK
  6. Jan Friso Groote, Eindhoven University of Technology, NL
  7. Matthew Hennessy, Trinity College Dublin, IE 
  8. Kohei Honda, Queen Mary College London, UK  (some photos
  9. Anna Ingolfsdottir, Reykjavik University, Iceland
  10. George Milne, The University of Western Australia, Australia
  11. Eugene Stark, SUNY Sony Brook, USA 
  12. P.S. Thiagarajan, Singapore University, SG


Chairpersons and Secretaries